• Follow BBBway on Twitter

  • Boneau/Bryan-Brown on LinkedIn
  • This Just In:

  • BBBway Tweets

  • Archives

  • Categories

  • wordpress stats
  • Advertisements

The Scottsboro Boys nominated for four AUDELCO Awards

4 out of four stars!”  A MASTERWORK – daring and highly entertaining!

If you see one show this season, make it THE SCOTTSBORO BOYS!”

Elisabeth Vincentelli, NEW YORK POST

4 out of four stars!”  Susan Stroman is in top form here!

Soaring music, some of Kander & Ebb’s best!”


“Pitch perfect.  A STAGGERINGLY INVENTIVE piece of musical theatre.

Entertainment of the highest order, with INSPIRED direction and choreography

by Susan Stroman.  An EXHILIRATING evening of theatre!”

Michael Kuchwara, ASSOCIATED PRESS





Music and lyrics by JOHN KANDER and FRED EBB


Direction and Choreography by SUSAN STROMAN

THE SCOTTSBORO BOYS, the exhilarating new Kander & Ebb musical, has been nominated for four AUDELCO Awards for Excellence in Black Theatre.   The production was nominated for Outstanding Musical Production, Outstanding Director (Susan Stroman), Outstanding Choreographer (Susan Stroman), and Outstanding Musical Performer (Brandon Victor Dixon, who created the role of Haywood Patterson in the Vineyard Theatre’s world premiere production earlier this year).  The 38th Annual Vivian Robinson/AUDELCO Awards for Excellence in Black Theatre will be announced in a ceremony on Monday, November 15 at Harlem Stage/Aaron Davis Hall, 133rd Street and Convent Avenue.   For more information about the AUDELCO Awards, please call (212) 368-6906 or visit www.audelco.net.

Previews for THE SCOTTSBORO BOYS begin next Thursday, October 7 at the Lyceum Theatre, 149 West 45th Street.  Opening night is Sunday, October 31.

THE SCOTTSBORO BOYS stars John Cullum as Interlocutor, Joshua Henry as Haywood Patterson, Colman Domingo as Mr. Bones, Forrest McClendon as Mr. Tambo, Sharon Washington as The Lady, Josh Breckenridge as Olen Montgomery, Derrick Cobey as Andy Wright, Jeremy Gumbs as Eugene Williams, Rodney Hicks as Clarence Norris, Kendrick Jones as Willie Roberson, James T. Lane as Ozie Powell and Ruby Bates, Julius Thomas III as Roy Wright and Christian Dante White as Charles Weems and Victoria Price.   The production also features E. Clayton Cornelious, JC Montgomery, Clinton Roane and Cherene Snow.

THE SCOTTSBORO BOYS is the thrilling final collaboration by musical theatre giants John Kander and Fred Ebb (Chicago, Cabaret). Based on the notorious “Scottsboro” case in the 1930s (in which nine African-American men were unjustly accused of a terrible crime) this daring and wildly entertaining musical explores a fascinating chapter in American history with brilliant originality. This critically-acclaimed production, directed and choreographed by five-time Tony Award winner Susan Stroman (The Producers) and featuring a book by David Thompson (who adapted the script for Chicago‘s record-breaking revival), comes to Broadway following a sold-out run at the Vineyard Theatre.

Earlier this year, THE SCOTTSBORO BOYS won the 2010 Lucille Lortel Award for Outstanding Musical and the 2010 Outer Critics Circle Award for Outstanding Off-Broadway Musical and a 2010 Drama Desk Award for Outstanding Lyrics.

THE SCOTTSBORO BOYS had its world premiere in February at the Vineyard Theatre, where it was heralded by Entertainment Weekly as “a cause for rejoicing,” “a masterwork” by the New York Post, “staggeringly inventive” by the Associated Press and “dazzling, riveting and toe-tapping with real teeth” by Variety.  NY1 called the production “one of the most satisfyingly original shows to open in a very long time!,” while Bloomberg News raved “Susan Stroman is in top form here — razor sharp dancing and soaring music, some of Kander and Ebb’s best!”

THE SCOTTSBORO BOYS was further developed this summer in a critically acclaimed, sold out production at the Guthrie Theater in Minneapolis (Joe Dowling, Director), where it played from July 31 through September 25 on the McGuire Proscenium Stage.

Set design is by Beowulf Boritt, costume design is by Toni-Leslie James, lighting design is Ken Billington and sound design is by Peter Hylenski.  Orchestrations are by Larry Hochman, with musical arrangements by Glen Kelly.  Music direction is by David Loud.

The Off-Broadway cast recording of THE SCOTTSBORO BOYS will be released on Tuesday, October 12 from JAY Records.

THE SCOTTSBORO BOYS will be produced on Broadway by Barry and Fran Weissler, Jacki Barlia Florin, Janet Pailet/Sharon Carr/Patricia Klausner, Nederlander Presentations, Inc./The Shubert Organization, Inc., Beechwood Entertainment, Broadway Across America, Mark Zimmerman, Adam Blanshay/R2D2 Productions, Rick Danzansky/Barry Tatelman, Bruce Robert Harris/Jack W. Batman, Allen Spivak/Jerry Frankel, Bard Theatrical/Probo Productions/Randy Donaldson, Catherin Schreiber/Michael Palitz/Patti Laskawy, Vineyard Theatre.

Tickets ($39.50 – $131.50; Premium $251.50) are available by calling Telecharge.com at 212-239-6200, online at www.telecharge.com and at the Lyceum Theatre box office (149 West 45th Street).   Performances are Tuesday through Sunday at 8:00 PM, with matinees Saturday and Sunday at 3:00 PM.

%d bloggers like this: