• Follow BBBway on Twitter

  • Boneau/Bryan-Brown on LinkedIn
  • This Just In:

  • BBBway Tweets

  • Archives

  • Categories

  • wordpress stats
  • Advertisements

O’Neill Theater Center’s Preston Whiteway Back Stage Video Feature





CLICK TO WATCH: http://www.theoneill.org/2010TonyAward.asp

The Eugene O’Neill Theater Center executive director Preston Whiteway recently spoke with Back Stage editor David Sheward about the history of the prestigious organization and the honor of being awarded the 2010 Antoinette Perry Award for Regional Theater, which will presented at the Tony Award® ceremony at Radio City Music Hall this Sunday, June 13.  Now watch the exclusive video online: http://www.theoneill.org/2010TonyAward.asp

The O’Neill was founded in 1964 with a mission to “discover, nurture, and develop new works and new artists for the stage.”  Since that first year, thousands of plays, musicals, students, actors, directors, puppeteers, cabaret artists, and critics have launched their careers and achieved national prominence.  
Preston Whiteway oversees the O’Neill’s seven distinct programs each led by its own distinct Artistic Director supporting this mission: the National Playwrights Conference (founding program); the National Music Theater Conference; the National Theater Institute; the National Puppetry Conference; the Cabaret and Performance Conference; the National Critics Institute; and the Monte Cristo Cottage – O’Neill’s home and setting for Long Day’s Journey Into Night.
The O’Neill’s Board is led by Chairman Tom Viertel; Vice-Chair Ruth Hendel; Treasurer Stephen Hendel; and Secretary Linda Mariani. Trustees include: Roger S. Christiansen; Brian Dennehy; JoAnne Walton Dickinson; Michael Douglas; Brian Drutman; Lynn R. Fusco; Carolyn Greenspan; Heather Henson; Astrid Horan; Kenneth Kansas; Sara Katz; Chester Kitchings, Jr.; Dorita Lieberman; Leah Lowe; Dina Merrill Hartley; Jerome Meyer; John W. Rafal; Sally Speer; Betsy White; George C. White; Preston Whiteway; Frederick B. Whittemore; Michael B. Wray.
The Eugene O’Neill Theater Center has also been awarded a special Tony Award® for Theatrical Excellence in 1979, the National Opera Award, the Jujamcyn Award for Theatre Excellence, and the Arts and Business Council Encore Award.

For more information, visit: www.theoneill.org 

 # # # #

%d bloggers like this: