• Follow BBBway on Twitter

  • Boneau/Bryan-Brown on LinkedIn
  • This Just In:

  • BBBway Tweets

  • Archives

  • Categories

  • wordpress stats

‘SHORT TAKES’ with ‘ALFRED HITCHCOCK’s THE 39 STEPS’ John Behlmann

 JOHN BEHLMANN plays Richard Hannay in Alfred Hitchcocks THE 39 STEPS at its fourth New York Home. Now playing Off-Broadway at The New World Stages, John was more than excited to take a few minutes and share some of his interests on his very little off-time! Take a look.   

1. What Broadway or Off-Broadway show, book and movie are you recommending to friends these days?

My Broadway recommendation is definitely Enron. My friend January is in it!

[Click on the photo to find out more on ENRON]

I get easily interested but I tend to read only in short bursts, which lends itself to a lot of unfinished books.  The answer to that dilemma?  Short stories.  The best thing Iever did for myself is get a subscription to McSweeney’s Quarterly Journal.  It’s always full of great short fiction and other surprises.  I’ve been able to discover some authors I really love without having to leave their work only halfway read. 

[Click on the photo to read MCSWEENEY’S awesome blog]

Movie?  “In Bruges“.  It’s Martin McDonagh’s first feature film.  I think it’s brilliantly written and performed and it got mostly overlooked when it was out.

 

2. What country (other than the US) would you most like to visit? 

Country I’d most like to visit:  Definitely, hands-down, 100%… ICELAND!  I’ve been fascinated by it for the last 9 months.  Iceland has a huge canon of medieval epics that I stumbled upon over the summer.  They’re these great half- historical half-fantastical stories of Viking settlers taming this wild island. Plus, it’s the largest volcanic island on the planet, so the sheer range of geological forms in such a confined space is tremendous. You’ve got glaciers and volcanoes and waterfalls and green rolling hills all right next to each other. Plus Icelandic women are supposed to be gorgeous…so that doesn’t hurt. 

[Deciding to go to ICELAND, Click on the photo]

 

3. What musical theatre character would you most like to be stranded with on a desert island? Why?

Musical theater character to be stranded on a desert island with:  Well since they haven’t made LOST: the Musical (yet), I’d probably go with Donkey from Shrek.  He seems like good company, and if push came to shove…he’s edible. 

 

4. What’s your favorite NYC “hotspot”? (Restaurant, bar, museum, neighborhood)

Favorite NYC Hotspot:  Well, with spring approaching…definitely Central Park.  But apart from that…Jimmy’s Corner.  I’m a dive bar man at heart and it’s one of the best.

[Going to Central Park? Click on the picture]

Want to go to Jimmy’s Corner? Click on the Photo]

 

5. What is your favorite Hitchcock film, and why?

Fave Hitchcock film:  I think I have to say Vertigo.  I didn’t grow up watching old movies or anything.  LIke a lot of suburban American kids, when I saw a black and white film come on the TV I switched the channel to something brightly colored and preferably animated as quickly as I could.  So my first real exposure to Hitchcock came in film class at Wesleyan.  And one of my first papers in that class was written about Vertigo.  It was one of the first times in my life that I really began to examine and understand film as an art form and not just a vehicle for cool explosions.

 

Alfred Hitchcock’s THE 39 STEPS is currently playing at the New World Stages/ Stage 1 (340 West 50th Street, between 8th and 9th Avenues).

Adapted by Patrick Barlow and directed by Maria Aitken, THE 39 STEPS is based on an original concept by Simon Corble and Nobby Dimon and on the book by John Buchan.  

THE 39 STEPS features a cast of four actors who, against all odds, breathlessly and hilariously attempt to reenact all of the characters, locations and famous scenes in Hitchcock’s 1935 film thriller with just a few props and a lot of theatrical ingenuity and split second quick changes.

Tickets ($89.50 – 69.50) are available through Telecharge at 212-239-6200 or online at www.telecharge.com.  Student rush is available for $27.50.   All prices include a $1.50 facility fee.  Performances are Monday, Wednesday – Friday at 8:00 PM, Saturday at 3:00 and 8:00 PM, Sunday at 3:00 and 7:00 PM. 

# # # #

www.39StepsNY.com

 

 

