• Follow BBBway on Twitter

  • Boneau/Bryan-Brown on LinkedIn
  • This Just In:

  • BBBway Tweets

  • Archives

  • Categories

  • wordpress stats
  • Advertisements

Table seating now on sale for La Cage aux Folles




WINNER! 2009 Olivier Award, Best Actor in a Musical – DOUGLAS HODGE

WINNER!  2009 Critics’ Circle Theatre Award – BEST MUSICAL 

Table seating now on sale at 


Telecharge.com and the Longacre Theatre box office for




Previews begin Tuesday, April 6


Opening Night, Sunday, April 18


Every night at the critically acclaimed Olivier Award-winning production of LA CAGE AUX FOLLES, a small group of very lucky theatergoers will get to watch he production from a unique vantage point: at one of four cabaret tables located in the front of the orchestra.  There, they will experience LA CAGE as never before – closer to the dazzling splendor of the production’s stars, five-time Emmy Award-winner Kelsey Grammer and Olivier Award-winner Douglas Hodge and in a position where the notorious and dangerous Cagelles will be even more notorious and a little more dangerous.  

The cabaret tables, 18 seats total, are now on sale at www.telecharge.com/lacage, by phone at Telecharge.com at 212-239-6200 or at the Longacre Theatre box office at 220 West 48th Street.  Tickets for the table seating will be $251.50, including service charge.   There are two tables of five seats, and two tables of four seats. 
LA CAGE AUX FOLLES stars five-time Emmy Award-winner Kelsey Grammer as Georges and Olivier Award-winner Douglas Hodge as Albin, and also stars Fred Applegate (The Producers, Young Frankenstein) as Edouard Dindon/M. Renaud; Tony nominee Veanne Cox (Company, Caroline, or Change) as Mme. Dindon/Mme. Renaud; Chris Hoch (Beauty and the Beast, Spamalot, Shrek the Musical) as Francis; Elena Shaddow (Fiddler on the Roof, Fanny at Encores!) as Anne; A.J. Shively, a recent University of Michigan graduate, making his Broadway debut as Jean-Michel; with two-time Tony nominee Christine Andreas (My Fair Lady, Oklahoma!, On Your Toes) as Jacqueline; Tony-nominee Robin de Jesús (In the Heights) as Jacob; with Heather Lindell (Hairspray) as Colette; Bill Nolte (The Producers, 1776) as Tabarro and David Nathan Perlow (White Noise) as Etienne.   
Also starring as the notorious and dangerous Cagelles will be Nick Adams (A Chorus Line, Guys and Dolls, Chicago) as Angelique, Nicholas Cunningham (La Cage aux Folles/West End) as Hanna, Sean Patrick Doyle (Fiddler on the Roof national tour, Wig Out!) as Chantal, Yurel Echezarreta (West Side Story) as Phaedra, Logan Keslar (West Side Story/West End, On the Town/Paper Mill Playhouse) as Bitelle and Terry Lavell (Hairspray/Las Vegas, Smokey Joe’s Café/national tour)  as Mercedes.   The production also features Christophe Caballero, Todd Lattimore, Dale Hensley, Caitlin Mundth and Cheryl Stern.  

Douglas Hodge and Nicholas Cunningham are appearing with the permission of Actors’ Equity Association. The producers gratefully acknowledge Actors’ Equity Association for its assistance to this production.

begins previews on Tuesday, April 6 and opens on Sunday, April 18 at Broadway’s Longacre Theatre (220 West 48th Street).   The production is now on sale through Telecharge.com at 212-239-6200, at www.telecharge.com/lacage   and at the Longacre Theatre box office (220 West 48th Street).  

features music and lyrics by Jerry Herman and book by Harvey Fierstein, based on the play by Jean Poiret.  This freshly reconceived production is choreographed by Lynne Page and directed by Terry Johnson.

Georges (Kelsey Grammer) is the suave owner of a glitzy drag club on the French Riviera. Partnered romantically with his high-strung star performer, Albin (Douglas Hodge), the pair live a charmed life—until Georges’ son announces his engagement to the daughter of a conservative right-wing politician who’s coming to dinner.
The original production of LA CAGE AUX FOLLES was one of Broadway’s biggest hits of the 1980s.  It opened August 21, 1983 at the Palace Theatre, where it played for over four years and 1,761 performances.  The show won six Tony Awards in 1984, including Best Musical, Best Score (Jerry Herman) and Best Book (Harvey Fierstein).       

The new production of LA CAGE AUX FOLLES played from November 23, 2007 to March 8, 2008 at the Menier Chocolate Factory, earning across the board raves and moving to the West End’s Playhouse Theatre on October 30, 2008, where it was nominated for seven 2009 Olivier Awards, winning for Best Musical Revival and Best Actor in a Musical for Douglas Hodge and won the 2009 Critics’ Circle Theatre Award for Best Musical.  
“A glorious night of showbiz razzle dazzle!” exclaimed Charles Spencer, Daily Telegraph.  “At last a musical to sweep away those credit-crunch blues. This joyous show deserves every hurrah and standing ovation it receives.”  “Suddenly, the West End sparkles,” cheered Sam Marlowe, The Times.  “Sew on a sequin, slip into some heels and go.”  
The production features set design by Tim Shortall, costume design by Matthew Wright, lighting design by Nick Richings, sound design by Jonathan Deans and wig and makeup design by Richard Mawbey.   Musical supervision, orchestrations and dance arrangements are by Jason Carr.  Musical director is Todd Ellison. 

LA CAGE AUX FOLLES will be produced by Sonia Friedman Productions, David Babani, Fran and Barry Weissler and Edwin W. Schloss, Bartner/Tulchin, Broadway Across America, Matthew Mitchell, Raise the Roof 4 Richard Winkler/Bensinger Taylor/Laudenslager Bergère, Arlene Scanlan/John O’Boyle, Independent Presenters Network, Olympus Theatricals, Allen Spivak, Jerry Frankel/Bat-Barry Productions.

Tickets ($132.50 – $36.50; Premium $251.50; Cabaret table seating $251.50) are on sale through Telecharge.com at 212-239-6200, online at www.telecharge.com/lacage  and at the Longacre Theatre box office (220 West 48th Street).  Performances will be Tuesday through Saturday at 8:00 PM, Sunday at 7:00 PM, with matinees Wednesday and Saturday at 2:30 PM.  Special Sunday matinee time on June 13 at 2:00 PM.  Beginning June 20, Sunday matinees at 3:00 PM. 

# # # #


%d bloggers like this: