• Follow BBBway on Twitter

  • Boneau/Bryan-Brown on LinkedIn
  • This Just In:

  • BBBway Tweets

  • Archives

  • Categories

  • wordpress stats

2009 Henry Hewes Design Award Nominees


45th Annual Ceremony Slated for Late Fall

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE CONTACT: Jeffrey Eric Jenkins October 5, 2009 718-789-5553

NEW YORK — The Henry Hewes Design Awards Committee has nominated 60 theater artists for recognition of their outstanding work in 46 productions presented during the 2008-2009 New York theater season. The awards will be presented at a luncheon to be held late this fall.

These annual awards honor designers for work in venues on Broadway, Off Broadway and Off Off Broadway, recognizing not only the traditional categories of scenic design, costume design and lighting design, but also “Notable Effects,” which encompass sound, music, video, puppetry and other creative elements. All nominated designs must have originated in United States productions. The Hewes Awards Committee considered more than 200 productions when making its nominations.

The Broadway production of Shrek received five nominations. The revival of Guys and Dolls and 33 Variations received four nominations each; Soho Rep’s production of Blasted received three nominations. Ten other productions received two nominations each. Shrek designer Tim Hatley received nominations for scenic design, costumes and notable effects (puppetry). Nine other artists each received a pair of nominations.

Originally known as the Maharam Awards at their inception in 1965, the Hewes Awards were later known as the American Theatre Wing Design Awards in honor of the Wing’s generous sponsorship. They were renamed in 1999 for noted critic Henry Hewes, who created the awards and served as a board member of the American Theatre Wing until his death in 2006 at age 89.

The Henry Hewes Design Awards Committee includes theater critics Jeffrey Eric Jenkins, chair; Dan Bacalzo; David Barbour; David Cote; Glenda Frank; Mario Fratti; and Joan Ungaro.


Scenic Design
John Lee Beatty Accent on Youth
Beowulf Boritt The Toxic Avenger
Robert Brill Guys and Dolls
David Gallo reasons to be pretty
Roger Hanna The Glass Cage
Tim Hatley Shrek
David Korins Stunning
David Korins Why Torture Is Wrong
Santo Loquasto A Man for All Seasons
John McDermott The Singing Forest
Derek McLane Ruined


Scenic Design (cont’d)
Derek McLane 33 Variations
Peter Meineck Catch 22
Scott Pask 9 to 5
Neil Patel This Beautiful City
Tom Pye All My Sons
Jenny Rogers Wickets
Walt Spangler Desire Under the Elms
Louisa Thompson Blasted
Tony Walton A Tale of Two Cities
Mark Wendland Boys’ Life


Costume Design
Marina Draghici Fela
Tim Hatley Shrek
Gregory Gale Rock of Ages
Gregory Gale The Third Story
Jane Greenwood Accent on Youth
Toni-Leslie James Wig Out!
William Ivey Long 9 to 5
Michael McDonald Hair
Martin Pakledinaz Blithe Spirit
Clint Ramos Women Beware Women
Carrie Robbins White Christmas
Janice Rytel 33 Variations
Lenora Taylor and Santiago Rojo Cirque Dreams Jungle Fantasy
Paul Tazewell Guys and Dolls
Paul Tazewell Ruined
David C. Woolard The Toxic Avenger
Catherine Zuber Joe Turner’s Come and Gone


Lighting Design
Kevin Adams Hair
Kevin Adams Next to Normal
Christopher Akerlind Garden of Earthly Delights
Paul Anderson All My Sons
Howell Binkley Guys and Dolls
Marcus Doshi Hamlet
Herrick Goldman Rooms
Peter Kaczorowski Waiting for Godot
Ben Kato Washing Machine
David Lander 33 Variations
Jason Lyons Clay
Jason Lyons Rock of Ages
Tyler Micoleau Blasted
Richard Pilbrow A Tale of Two Cities
Hugh Vanstone Shrek
Lighting Design (cont’d)
David Weiner reasons to be pretty
David Weiner This Beautiful City


Notable Effects


(Notable Effects Nominations–Production Design)


Tal Yarden (projections, video) Distracted Mark Wendland (scenery)

Jim Findlay (production design) The Success of Failure Jeff Sugg (production design) and the Failure of Success

(Notable Effects Nominations–Individuals)

Naomi Donne (makeup)
John Gromada (sound)
Tim Hatley (puppetry)
Dan Hurlin (puppetry)
Nathan Johnson (makeup, special effects)
Elaine McCarthy (scenery, projections)
Dustin O’Neill (video)
Jeff Sugg (projections)
Matt Tierney (sound)
Basil Twist (puppetry)
Joshua White (projections)

Shrek Shipwrecked!: An Entertainment Shrek Disfarmer Beast Frequency Hopping Guys and Dolls 33 Variations Blasted Arias With a Twist Farragut North




%d bloggers like this: