• Follow BBBway on Twitter

  • Boneau/Bryan-Brown on LinkedIn
  • This Just In:

  • BBBway Tweets

    • RT @cbcradioq: "We have this longing to improve things, this idea that we can better ourselves and better our situation collectively. So ut… 1 day ago
    • Apply to intern with us next year, future press agents! twitter.com/BBBway/status/… 1 day ago
    • RT @rrokicks: Now you also have something for your holiday karaoke party. THE LIGHTNING THIEF: THE PERCY JACKSON MUSICAL Releases a Deluxe… 2 days ago
  • Archives

  • Categories

  • wordpress stats



Drama Desk Award Winners

Fun Facts


The 53rd annual Drama Desk Awards, celebrating excellence in Broadway, Off-Broadway and Off-Off Broadway theatre, were presented last night.


Here is some background information on some of the notable winners.


Outstanding Featured Actor in a Play:

Conleth Hill (Ivan Curry) – THE SEAFARER

  • Conleth Hill is also nominated for a Tony Award® this year for his work on THE SEAFARER.
  • Conleth Hill returnedto the role he created at the National’s production of THE SEAFARER.
  • Theatre credits: original cast of Stones in his Pockets, which played at the Lyric, Belfast, Gaiety Theatre, Dublin, Traverse, Edinburgh, and at the Tricycle, New Ambassadors and Duke of York’s in London, before transferring to Toronto and Broadway. His National Theatre credits include Philistines, The Seafarer and Democracy.
  • TV and film credits include: “The Life and Times of Vivien Vyle,” “Goodbye Mr Chips,” “Boon,” “Casualty,” “Meaningful Sex,” “The Bill,” “Blue Heaven,” Intermission, Trust Me, A Man You Don’t Meet Every Day, Out of the Deep Pan, Cluck, and Crossmaheart.
  • Awards: Conleth received the Olivier, Irish Times, Outer Critics Circle, Drama Desk, Theatre World, Whatsonstage, and Dora Awards and was nominated for a Tony Award® for his role in Stones in his Pockets. Conleth received his second Olivier for The Producers.



Outstanding Orchestrations:


  • Jason Carr is also nominated for a Tony Award® this year for his work on SUNDAY IN THE PARK WITH GEORGE.
  • Previous Awards: 2006 Nomination for British Composer Award; 1988 Vivian Ellis Prize for young writers of musicals
  • Jason created these new orchestrations for SUNDAY IN THE PARK WITH GEORGE at the Menier Chocolate Factory in 2005. He also orchestratedMenier’s recent hit production of La Cage aux Folles.
  • Jason has composed incidental music for over 30 plays at the RNT, RSC, in the West End and on Broadway. He alsohas a number of credits as apianist, arranger and musical director.



Outstanding Set Design of a Play:


  • Scott Pask is also nominated for a Tony Award® this year for his work on LES LIAISONS DANGEREUSES.
  • Notable credits: Pask has provided the scenic design for Cabaret, Urinetown, Take Me Out, The Pillowman, The Wedding Singer, The Lieutenant of Inishmore and many others.
  • Previous awards: 2007 Tony Award® with Bob Crowley for his work on The Coast of Utopia. Four Drama Desk Awards for Outstanding Set Design for Take Me Out, Amour, Sweet Charity and The Wedding Singer. In 2005, Pask was awarded the Tony Award for Best Scenic Design of a Play for The Pillowman.
  • Pask earned a Bachelor of Architecture degree from the University of Arizona and a Master of Fine Arts from Yale University.
  • Scott Pask has designed numerous shows for Roundabout including the award winning production of Nine and The Ritz which played at Studio 54 this Fall.



Outstanding Costume Design:


•        Katrina Lindsay is also nominated for a Tony Award® this year for her work on LES LIAISONS DANGEREUSES.

  • This is Katrina’s Broadway debut!
  • London-based designer with numerous West End (Cabaret), Royal Shakespeare Company (Romeo & Juliet; Comedy of Errors) and National (Market Boy) credits.
  • Previous Awards: Arts Foundation Fellowship Award for Costume Design.



Outstanding Lighting Design:

Kevin AdamsTHE 39 STEPS

  • Kevin Adams is also nominated for a Tony Award® this year for his work on THE 39 STEPS.
  • Adams is currently represented on Broadway with his designs for Spring Awakening and Passing Strange.
  • Previous Awards: 2007 Tony Award® for Spring Awakening, 1998 and 2007 Lucille Lortel Awards, 2002 Obie for Sustained Excellence.



Outstanding Projection and Video Design:

Timothy Bird & The Knifedge Creative Network – SUNDAY IN THE PARK WITH GEORGE

  • Timothy Bird is also nominated for a Tony Award® this year for his work on SUNDAY IN THE PARK WITH GEORGE.

•        Previous Awards: Timothy won the Olivier Award and the Evening Standard Award, with David Farley, for the West End production of Sunday in the Park with George.

  • Timothy is known for his pioneering projection design for theatre.



Unique Theatrical Experience:


  • THE 39 STEPS has been nominated for six 2008 Tony Awards®, including Best Play, Director of a Play (Maria Aitken), Set Design of a Play (Peter McKintosh), Costume Deisgn of a Play (Peter McKintosh), Lighting Design of a Play (Kevin Adams) and Sound Design of a Play (Mic Pool).
  • The New York premiere of Alfred Hitchcock’s THE 39 STEPS began previews on January 4, 2008 and opened officially on January 15 at Roundabout Theatre Company’s American Airlines Theatre. The hit production extended through March 29 and transferred to Broadway’s Cort Theatre on April 29, 2008, where it opened on May 8.
  • THE 39 STEPS, a loving send-up of Alfred Hitchcock’s famous 1935 film and John Buchan’s 1915 novel, is a worldwide phenomenon. The play, adapted by Patrick Barlow, won the 2007 Olivier Award for Best New Comedy and it continues to play to sold-out houses in London’s West End. THE 39 STEPS has also been worldwide hit in Australia, Italy, Israel, South Africa and Korea, with production planned for China and Japan.
  • THE 39 STEPS is produced by Bob Boyett, Harriet Newman Leve/Ron Nicynski, Stewart F. Lane/Bonnie Comley, Manocherian Golden Prods., Olympus Theatricals/Douglas Denoff, Pam Laudenslager/Pat Addiss, Roundabout Theatre Company (Todd Haimes, Artistic Director; Harold Wolpert, Managing Director; Julia Levy, Executive Director), Huntington Theatre Company (Nicholas Martin, Artistic Director; Michael Maso, Managing Director) and Edward Snape for Fiery Angel Ltd.



For a complete list of winners please visit www.dramadesk.com




%d bloggers like this: